national merit 2019

From left are Principal Bill Runey, guidance counselor Sharon Lamoureaux, National Merit Scholar Commended students Nathaniel Fisante, Emily Gittle, Jenna Gittle, and Eric Yip, guidance counselors Sue Synan and Kelsey Buckman, and guidance coordinator Julie Little.

ATTLEBORO — Four Attleboro High School seniors have been named Commended Scholars in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program.

The students are Nathaniel Fisante, Emily Gittle, Jenna Gittle and Eric Yip.

They are among approximately 1.5 million U.S. high school students who participated in the October 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

Nearly 34,000 students earn scores high enough to receive letters of commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise.

The four students were among the first offered the PSAT by AHS in the 8th grade as a way to encourage their desire to score well in subsequent years, Principal Bill Runey said.

Commended Scholars and semifinalists are among the top 3 percent of all students in the nation taking the exam.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation is a nonprofit that conducts annual competitions for recognition and college undergraduate scholarships. Since its founding, nearly 3 million students have been recognized and over 350,000 scholarships have been awarded.

Jim Hand may be reached at 508-236-0399 or You can follow him on Twitter at @TSCpolitics.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.